Trek bike buying advice, which do you think?

Discuss & ask about mountain bikes and frames here. Need help with what MTB to buy, model specific questions/comparisons, or just want to discus your bike modifications & builds.
11 postsPage 1 of 1
Trek bike buying advice, which do you think?

Postby JT2811 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:05 pm

Hello everyone, I am just getting into MTB and have a question. A lot of people ask questions about bikes, so i figured i'd add to the count...

I am looking at the Trek 3700 or the Trek 3900. The 3700 has an 80mm front suspension while the 3900 has the 100mm suspension. Is there a noteable difference with how he bike will handle the terrain, and is it worth the extra money? My price cap is right around $400, which the 3700 meets and the 3900 is about $50 over.

Im not looking at doing anything advanced, but if I end up liking it, I would be moving into more difficult riding.

If you have any other knowledge or recommendations you would like to pass on, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks
JT2811 offline

Re: Trek bike buying advice, which do you think?

Postby GoldenGoose » Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:29 pm

You probably won't notice a major difference in how the bike handles over a change of 20mm of suspension, especially if you are a beginner to mountain biking. The only other major difference in the two you are looking at is the drivetrain. The 3900 is an 8 speed setup and the 3700 is a seven speed setup. Most manufacturers have stopped making 7 speed parts and they are now a lot harder to find; not impossible to find, just harder. In the case that you need to replace a part later on, this could be an issue.
Looking for inspiration, everyday.

There's nothing a man can't "fix" with the right size hammer.
GoldenGoose offline

Postby FBTrek321 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:05 am